The Cyprus license plates are composed of three letters and three numbers (“ABC-123”). Currently, the front plates must be white, while the backplates are yellow.

In 1930, the backplates were black with white characters and at the beginning of the plate on the left, they had a letter that related the vehicle to the city, for example, “N” for Nicosia and “S” for Skala. Between 1930 and 1950 both plates (front and rear) had only four numbers (“1234”). Between 1950 and 1956 one letter and three numbers (“A123”). Between 1956 and 1973 two letters and three numbers (“AB123”), between 1973 and 1990 the plates began to have white front and yellow back. Between 1990 and 2003 they consisted of three letters and three numbers (“ABC123”). Since 2003, the Eurobande with “CY” from Cyprus (Cyprus) is mandatory on all vehicles.

Dealer vehicles have a white background with red characters with test writing and 5 numbers. Taxis have their license plate, just like private vehicles, only with a capital “T” in front of the three letters. Rental cars (red plates), visitors (yellow plates), and public services also have their own plates (blue).

Showing all 4 results